Research Help

How can we help you? Your MSJ Librarians can:

• Provide guidance when you don’t know where or how to start your research.
• Teach you search strategies for finding and evaluating information.
• Show you tools & resources that will help with your class papers and projects.
• Answer questions about Library policies and services.
• Keep you informed about new resources and services.

MSJ Librarians available to assist you:

Scott Lloyd, MLS
Director of Library Services
Email: scott.lloyd@msj.edu  
Phone: 513-244-4347

Ruth Monnier, MLIS
Head of Research & Instructional Services
Email: ruth.monnier@msj.edu
Phone: 513-244-4880

Josh Zeller, MLIS
Head of Access Services
Email: joshua.zeller@msj.edu
Phone: 513-244-4882

Cynthia Gregory, MLS
Head of Electronic Resources
Email: cynthia.gregory@msj.edu  
Phone: 513-244-4762

Julie Flanders, MLS
Head of Strategic Collection Services
Email: julie.flanders@msj.edu  
Phone: 513-244-4798

What do we mean when we say “article,” “call number,” or “database”? Below are definitions of terms commonly used in the Mount 101 guide. These definitions are from the “Library Terminology: Glossary of Library Terms” page by USC Libraries, which should be consulted for even more common terms. For even further in-depth library-specific terms visit the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science.

Abstract: "A summary or brief description of the content of another longer work. An abstract is often provided along with the citation to a work."

Article: "A brief work—generally between 1 and 35 pages in length—on a topic. Often published as part of a journal, magazine, or newspaper."

Author: "The person(s) or organization(s) that wrote or compiled a document. Looking for information under its author's name is one option in searching."

Book: "A relatively lengthy work, often on a single topic. May be print or electronic."

Boolean operator: "A word—such as AND, OR, or NOT—that commands a computer to combine search terms. Helps to narrow (AND, NOT) or broaden (OR) searches."

Call Number: “A group of letters and/or numbers that identifies a specific item in a library and provides a way for organizing library holdings. Two major types of call numbers are Dewey Decimal Call Numbers and Library of Congress Call Numbers."

Catalog: "A database (either online or on paper cards) listing and describing the books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. Various search terms allow you to look for items in the catalog."

Check out: To borrow or loan "an item from a library for a fixed period of time in order to read, listen to, or view it. Check-out periods vary by library. Items are checked out at the circulation desk."

Circulation desk: "The place in the library where you check out, renew, and return library materials. You may also place a hold, report an item missing from the shelves, or pay late fees or fines there."

Citation: "A reference to a book, magazine or journal article, or other work containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work. A citation to a book thus includes its author's name, title, publisher and place of publication, and date of publication."

Course reserve: "A selection of books, articles, videotapes, or other materials that instructors want students to read or view for a particular course. Print reserve materials are usually kept in one area of the library and circulate for only a short period of time."

Database: "A collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer."

Hold: "A request by a user to a library that a book checked out to another person be saved for that user when it is returned. “Holds” can generally be placed on any regularly circulating library materials through an in-person or online circulation desk."

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): "A service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries through your own library."

Keyword: "A significant or memorable word or term in the title, abstract, or text of an information resource that indicates its subject and is often used as a search term."

Peer reviewed journal: "Peer review is a process by which editors have experts in a field review books or articles submitted for publication by the  experts’ peers. Peer review helps to ensure the quality of an information source by publishing only works of proven validity, methodology, and quality. Peer-reviewed journals are also called refereed or scholarly journals."

Periodical: "An information source published in multiple parts at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, biannually). Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals."

Subject heading: "Descriptions of an information source’s content assigned to make finding information easier."