Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "US History" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

US History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find U. S. History Articles

Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about U. S. history and related topics.

If you need an article from a journal we do not own or have full-text access to, you can request the article from Interlibrary Loan.

  • America: History & Life
    Indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide on the history of the United States and Canada. Also includes citations to book reviews, media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations. From 1964 to the present. Updated annually
  • Humanities International Complete
    Indexes approximately 400 journals in the subject areas of archaeology, classical studies, history, philosophy, linguistics, literature and language from 1984 to the present.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary full text database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications.
  • Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
    Offers full text of more than 2,000 online journals in many subject areas. 1985 to the present.

Find U. S. History Books

When looking for U. S. history books or videos/DVDs on any topic, try these methods:

  • Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library.

  • Use OhioLINK’s catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. By following the prompts in OhioLINK’s catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount. Learn more about how to request items from OhioLINK: http://library.msj.edu/aecontent.php?pid=173308&sid=1473734
  • Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as Miami University, UC or Xavier, present your Mount AllCard and check out items directly from their collections.

  • Use the catalog of the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County to locate items owned by the Public Library.

  • Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center and the EBSCO eBook Collection.
  • TIPS:

    When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.

    Examples of subject search terms:

    United States — History
    Dakota Indians — Wars, 1876
    Roosevelt, Eleanor
    Appalachian Region
    Civil Rights Movements

    If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you search for words in the title, publisher, and subject heading fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don’t hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

    For some people, browsing the U. S. history section of the Library’s book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range:

    Call # Range Subject
    970s, 3rd Floor History of North America
    973s, 3rd Floor United States
    974s, 3rd Floor Northeastern United States
    975s, 3rd Floor Southeastern United States
    976s, 3rd Floor South central United States
    977s, 3rd Floor North central United States
    978s, 3rd Floor Western United States
    979s, 3rd Floor Great Basin & Pacific Slope region
        

      Find U. S. Historical Societies & Museums

      Find U. S. History Maps

      Find Primary Sources U. S. History

      Primary sources are records of events as they are first described, without any interpretation or commentary. Examples are diaries, court records, letters, and interviews.

      Find U. S. History Images

      Find U.S. Historical Statistics

      Find U. S. History Reference

      Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic U. S. history reference resources which include:

      • American Chronicle: Seven Decades in American Life
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 973.9 G663 1990
      • Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 973.02 C319 1993
      • Great Events from History: North American series
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 970 G786 1997
      • The Oxford Companion to United States History
      • Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 973.03 E56 1996
      • Dictionary of American History
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 973.03 A21r 2003

      Find Biographical Information

      When looking for biographical information on any historical figure, try these three methods:

    • Use article databases like the ones in the Find U.S. History Articles section listed above.
    • Search for books & videos in the Focus and OhioLINK catalogs by subject using the person’s name.
    • Consult the biography books in the Library’s Reference section. A sampling of biographical resources you’ll find in the Library reference area includes:
      • The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 920 S434
      • American National Biography
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 920 D55 1999 + supplement 2002
      • Dictionary of American Biography
        LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 920 D55
       

      Hours*

      Summer Semester
      May 13-August 27, 2017

      M-Th: 8am-7pm
      Fri: 8am-5pm
      Sat: 10am-5pm
      Sun: Closed

      Days Closed (Summer):
      Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
      Sat., July 8; Sundays

      WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

         

        Ask a Librarian

        Get Research Help...

        Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
        during open hours

        Telephone Call
        513-244-4216

        Email to ask research questions online. Email
        library@msj.edu

        Renew Items...

        Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
        or login to your Library Account

        Author of This Guide

        Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
        Head of Public Services
        susan.falgner@msj.edu

        Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
        Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip