Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Social Work" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Social Work Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Social Work Articles

Journal articles provide current information and various points of view on your topic. Articles can also provide information about topics that are not covered in books. Search article databases, like the ones listed below, to find articles on your topic.

Articles which are available in full-text will have pdf or html links with the citation that you can click on to access the article. You may also see a “full text finder” link if the article is available in a different database than the one you are using.

If you need an article from a journal that the Mount does not own or have full-text access to, you can request the article from Interlibrary Loan. When you are using EbscoHost databases (such as SocINDEX), you should see a “Request this item through interlibrary loan” link with the citation. Otherwise, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form on MyMount to make your request.

It is important to understand the difference between scholarly and popular journals. Articles in scholarly journals must go through a peer-review process, and the authors are authorities in their fields. These articles are generally the most useful when conducting research. There is no peer-review process for articles in popular journals, and the authors are usually journal staff members. The articles in these journals are intended to inform and entertain.

Recommended Databases:

 

Find Social Work Print Books

Books provide extensive, in-depth information on a topic. You can access both print books and eBooks through the Mount library.

Print Books

For social work related books, search FOCUS. The subject heading used in the catalog is "Social Service." Related subjects include "Community organization," "Medical social work," and "Social case work."

Social work books will primarily be found on the second floor of the library. The library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification system to organize materials. The general social work numbers are in the 360 range and sociology numbers are in the 300-301 range. Users may also find helpful materials in the psychology section, which is in the 150 range. If you are not familiar with how to find Dewey numbers the librarian can help you.

If books are not available in the Mount library, you may borrow from OhioLINK. Using OhioLINK, currently enrolled College of Mount St. Joseph students, faculty and staff can find and borrow items held in college and university libraries throughout the state of Ohio. The books are delivered to the Mount, and usually arrive within 3-4 days. Books that are not available through OhioLINK may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. The delivery time is longer with ILL, but books usually arrive within 10 days. Guidelines for using Interlibrary Loan are available.

You may also want to use the resources available at local public and academic libraries. The Mount library homepage has links to their websites and catalogs on the Search Local Libraries page.

Some examples of print books available in the Mount library:

Cover Art
Effective Observation in Social Work Practice
Call Number: 361.32 E27 2015, 2nd Floor

Hope Matters: the Power of Social Work
Call Number: 361.3 H791 2014 2nd Floor

Cover Art
Social Work: Contexts and Practice
Call Number: 361.3 C752 2013 2nd Floor

 

Find Social Work Ebooks

Ebooks

The library provides access to several collections of academic ebooks, including the EBSCO eBook Collection and the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center. The books in these collections can be viewed via a web browser such as Google Chrome, Firefox, or Internet Explorer.

To search for social work related eBooks in the EBSCO collection, type “social work” in the search box and choose SU Subject under the Select a Field tab. You can also search for related subjects such as “social services” or sociology.  The Scholarly & Reference Center, available through the OhioLINK EBC, contains hundreds of eBooks in social science fields, including social work. To find social work eBooks, choose “Advanced Search” and enter social work in the subject field.

Examples of available Ebooks:

 

Find Social Work Reference Materials

Reference materials like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and directories help you find background information, definitions, and quick facts. Reference books are located on the first floor of the library.

Some examples of social work reference books available in the Mount library:

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of social work
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R360.973 S67 2008, vols., 1-4

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: Online Ebook
Publication Date: 2008 (20th ed.)

Cover Art
21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R301 A111 2007, vols., 1-2

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of disability
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R362.403 E564 2006, vols., 1-5

 

Hours*

Summer Semester
May 13-August 27, 2017

M-Th: 8am-7pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 10am-5pm
Sun: Closed

Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays

WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

     

    Ask a Librarian

    Get Research Help...

    Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
    during open hours

    Telephone Call
    513-244-4216

    Email to ask research questions online. Email
    library@msj.edu

    Renew Items...

    Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
    or login to your Library Account

    Author of this Guide

    Julie Flanders, MSW, MLS
    Head of Technical Services
    julie.flanders@msj.edu

    Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
    Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip