Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Religious Studies" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Religious Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Religious Studies Articles

Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books.  Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about religious studies and related topics.

  • ALTA Religion Database (American Theological Library Association)
    Indexes more than 130 journals covering the Bible, church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions, religious studies; theology, philosophy, and ethics from 1949 to the present. Includes essays in multi-author works, and book reviews covering the last ten years. Provides links to some full text of articles. Updated semi-yearly.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Indexes more than 300 journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, the history of philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy from 1975 to the present. Includes or has links to full text.
  • JSTOR
    Offers access to the full text of some religious studies journals. At the search screen, scroll down to Narrow by Discipline and select Religion to narrow search results to that collection of journals.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications.

Find Religious Studies Books

When looking for religious studies books or videos/DVDs on any topic, try these methods:

TIPS:

When searching Library catalog, you might begin with a subject search.  Examples of subject searches:

Religion and science

Goddess religion

Teresa, Mother, 1910-1997

Pilgrims and pilgrimages

Chartres Cathedral

Rastafari movement

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search.  Keyword searching lets you search for words in the title, publisher, and subject heading fields.  There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

For some people, browsing the religious studies section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful.  To do this use a call # range:

Call # Range

Subject

200s, 2nd Floor

 Religion

210s, 2nd Floor

 Concepts of God; Creation

220s, 2nd Floor

 The Bible; Old Testament; New Testament; Gospels and Acts; Epistles

230s, 2nd Floor

 Christianity and Christian theology; Jesus Christ

240s, 2nd Floor

 Christian moral and devotional theology; Christian ethics; Christian experience, practice and life

250s, 2nd Floor

 Church orders and local church; Pastoral work; Pastoral care of families and persons

260s, 2nd Floor

 Social and ecclesiastical theology; Sacraments; Missions;  Religious education

270s, 2nd Floor

 History of Christianity and Christian church

280s, 2nd Floor

 Christian denominations and sects; Early and Eastern churches; Roman Catholic Church; Protestant churches

290’s, 2nd Floor

 Other religions; Greek and Roman religion; Hinduism; Buddhism; Judaism; Islam

CDOC, 1st Floor

 Catholic Document Collection: publications of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and papal documents

  • FOCUS, MSJ Library Catalog
    Use the FOCUS, the Mount’s Library Catalog to locate items owned by the Mount Library.
  • OhioLINK catalog
    Use the OhioLINK catalog at http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. By following the prompts in the OhioLINK catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.
  • Search Ebooks
    Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or EBSCO eBook Collection.
 

Find Religious Biographies

When looking for biographical information on any religious studies figure, try these three methods:

Use article databases like the ones in the Find Religious Studies Articles section above.

Search for books and videos/DVDs in the FOCUS at http://focus.msj.edu/ and OhioLINK catalog at http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ by subject using the person's lastname, firstname.

Consult the biography books in the Library's Reference area.  A sampling of biographical resources you'll find in the Library Reference area includes:

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Popes
Call Number: Online Ebook
Publication Date: 2014 (2nd ed.)

Cover Art
Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R230.092 B615 2000

Lives of the Saints
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R922.2 B985 1956 1

 

Find Religious Studies Reference

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources.  The Library has both print and electronic religious studies reference resources. Examples include:

Cover Art
Atlas of the World's Religions
Call Number: Atlas of the World's Religions


The Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online Ebook
For historical research, the multi-volume 1913 edition is available in REFERENCE (1ST FL) R282.03 C363 1913

Cover Art
Contemporary American religion
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R200.973 C761 2000 1-2

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R296.03 E56 1989

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R230.03 D554 2005 1-3

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R299.7 H669 1992

The encyclopedia of religion
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R200.3 E56 1995 1-16

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R200.82 E56 1999 1-2

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American religions
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R200.8996 E56 1993

Cover Art
Guide to the Gods
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R291.211 L434 1992

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R200.9 W927 2006 1-3

Find Catholic Documents

The Mount Library's Catholic Documents Collection is located on the First Floor of the Library.  This collection includes publications of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and papal documents.  Items in the Catholic Documents Collection are listed in FOCUS at http://focus.msj.edu and have a call number label CDOC.

      
     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of This Guide

      Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
      Head of Public Services
      susan.falgner@msj.edu

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip