Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Psychology" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Psychology Articles

Journal articles provide current information and various points of view on your topic. Articles can also provide information about topics that are not covered in books. Search article databases, like the ones listed below, to find articles on your topic.

When you have found citations for articles you would like, use the "Find It!" button to determine availability for the article. This function will tell you whether the Mount library owns the journal or if it is available full-text.

If you need an article from a journal we do not own or have full-text access to, you can request the article from Interlibrary Loan

  • PsycINFO (1967-present)
    Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology, 1967 to the present. Includes or has links to full text.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    A database with nearly 515 full text titles and covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database also features over 490 peer-reviewed journals and PDF images.
  • CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health)
    A medical database, with some articles on clinical psychology and medical related psychological issues. Includes or has links to full text.
  • MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
    A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary, full text database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications and coverage for social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
  • Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
 

Find Psychology Books

Books provide extensive, in-depth information on a topic.

For psychology related books, search FOCUS. The subject heading used in the catalog is simply "Psychology." Related subjects include "Adolescent Psychology," "Behaviorism (Psychology)," and "Mental Health."

Psychology books will primarily be found on the second floor of the library. The library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification system to organize materials, and the general psychology numbers are in the 150 range. Users may also find helpful materials in the social work section, which is in the 360 range, or in the medical psychology area, which is in the 616 range. If you are not familiar with how to find Dewey numbers the librarian can help you.

If books are not available in the Mount library, you may borrow from OhioLINK. Using OhioLINK, currently enrolled College of Mount St. Joseph students, faculty and staff can find and borrow items held in college and university libraries throughout the state of Ohio. The books are delivered to the Mount, and usually arrive within 3-4 days. Books that are not available through OhioLINK may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. The delivery time is longer with ILL, but books usually arrive within 10 days.

You may also want to use the resources available at local public and academic libraries. The Mount library homepage has links to their websites and catalogs on the Search Local Libraries page.

Some examples of books available in the Mount library:

Cover Art
Understanding life - Alfred Adler
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 150.1953 A237u 1998


Cover Art
Psychological science : modeling scientific literacy
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 150 K91 2012

 

Find Psychology Reference Materials

Reference materials like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and directories help you find background information, definitions, and quick facts.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R150.3 E56a 1994 1-4

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human behavior
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R150.3 R165 1994 1-4

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R152.4 E56 1999 1-2

Survey of Social Science, Psychology Series
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R150.3 S963 1993 1-6

 

Hours*

Summer Semester
May 13-August 27, 2017

M-Th: 8am-7pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 10am-5pm
Sun: Closed

Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays

WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

     

    Ask a Librarian

    Get Research Help...

    Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
    during open hours

    Telephone Call
    513-244-4216

    Email to ask research questions online. Email
    library@msj.edu

    Renew Items...

    Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
    or login to your Library Account

    Author of this Guide

    Julie Flanders, MSW, MLS
    Head of Technical Services
    julie.flanders@msj.edu

    Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
    Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip