Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Philosophy" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Philosophy Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Philosophy Articles

Journal articles provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books or the internet. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find articles written about all areas of philosophy.

As you are searching these databases, look for attached full text or use the "Find It!" button within the databases to determine availability for the article. This function will tell you whether the Mount library owns the journal or if it is available full-text.

If you need an article from a journal we do not own or have full-text access to, you can request the article from Interlibrary Loan.

  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Comprehensive database with over 290 full text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Electronic Journal Center
    Offers full text of more than 2,000 academic journals in many subject areas.
  • JSTOR
    Offers several subject specific collections of full text academic journals. The collection the MSJ Library provides focuses specifically on the areas of music, art, religion, and literature.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary, full text database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications and coverage for social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
 

Find Philosophy Reference

Reference materials like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and directories help you find background information, definitions, and quick facts.

Examples of philosophy reference resources include:

Cover Art
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Reference (1st Floor) R103 R869 1998, vols. 1-10

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Reference (1st Floor) R170.3 E56 1992, vols. 1-2


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Call Number: Reference (1st Floor) R174.2 E56 1995, vols. 1-5

Cover Art
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Call Number: Reference (1st Floor) R181 C737 1997

Cover Art
Oxford History of Western Philosophy
Call Number: Reference (1st Floor) R190 O98 1994

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Website: online encyclopedia
"The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: a peer-reviewed academic resource
Call Number: Website: online encyclopedia
"The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts."

Find Philosophy Books

When looking for books or video/DVDs on philosophy try these methods:

  1. Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library. URL: http://focus.msj.edu


  2. Use OhioLINK's catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. URL: http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.

    Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as Langsam Library at UC or Xavier's Library, present your Mount AllCard and check out items directly from their collections.

  3. Use the CINCH catalog to locate items owned by the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County.
    URL: http://catalog.cincinnatilibrary.org/


  4. Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or EBSCO eBook Collection.

TIPS:

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

Aesthetics
Arendt,  Hannah
Derrida
Ethics
Existentialism
Philosophy, Asian
Philosophy, German
Plato

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search.  For example, philosophy AND women;  philosophy AND french; philosophy AND emotions. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

For some people, browsing the philosophy section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range.  Philosophy and its related disciplines (psychology, logic) are found in the 100-199s.  A more specific break down of the 100s section is:

Call # Range Subject
100s, 2nd Floor General Philosophy topics
110s, 2nd Floor Metaphysics
120s, 2nd Floor Epistemology
140s, 2nd Floor Philosophical Schools of Thought
150s, 2rd Floor Psychology
160s, 2rd Floor Logic
170s, 2rd Floor Ethics
180s, 2rd Floor Ancient, Medieval & Eastern Philosophy
190s, 2rd Floor Modern Western Philosophy
210s, 2nd Floor Philosophy & Theory of Religion
      

    Find Philosophy Ebooks

    • EBSCO eBook Collection
      The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time. Off-campus access requires MSJ AllCard.
    • Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
      Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas. The Scholarly & Reference Collection of the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center offers thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Use these books via your regular Web browser. Major academic publishers include ABC-CLIO, Sage, Gale, Springer, and Oxford University Press. Off-campus access requires MSJ AllCard.
    • Openculture
      Free cultural & educational media including ebooks, film, textbooks, and more.
    • Open Library
      A growing web site of free electronic versions of many classic texts.

    Find Philosophy Web Sites

    • American Philosophical Association
      The site of the main professional organization for philosophers in the United States. Its Web Resources page contains links to philosophy associations and societies worldwide, as well as cross-referencing e-texts, philosophy guides, web courses, and bibliographies.
    • Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory and Postmodern Thought
      Collection of links to general information about postmodernism and critical theory, and to specific theorists in the field of study, such as Jean Baudrillard, Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Martin Heidegger, and Edward Said. From an education professor at the University of Colorado at Denver.
    • Ethics Updates
      This site "is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students....to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional that relates to ethics." Includes separate pages on Immanuel Kant and Deontology and Aristotle and Virtue Ethics . Maintained by University of San Diego (CA) Professor Lawrence M. Hinman.
    • Greek Philosophy Archive
      Offers translations of primary works by ancient Greek philosophers including Plato, Aristotle, and Epictetus and includes images of ancient Greek art and architecture.
    • History of Philosophy Without any Gaps
      "Peter Adamson, Professor of Philosophy at the LMU in Munich and at King's College London, takes listeners through the history of philosophy, 'without any gaps.' The series looks at the ideas, lives and historical context of the major philosophers as well as the lesser-known figures of the tradition."
    • In Our Time's Philosophy Archive
      This site from the BBC's program "In Our Time" features a philosopher timeline, a quiz, and audio and text about philosophers ranging from Aristotle to Sartre.
    • Index of historians and philosophers
      Indexes significant historians and philosophers by time period. Individuals are cross-referenced with online resources (primarily biographies and e-texts).
    • The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      Features "detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy."
    • Philosophical Installations
      "This website, funded by University of Oregon’s Department of Philosophy, provides open access to over 1500 online philosophy videos. Videos are conveniently searchable by topic and thinker."
    • Philosophy Pages
      Serves as a guide to the study of philosophy with a Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names, survey History of Western Philosophy, Timeline of Western Philosophers (from 600 B.C.E.-present), and listings of additional links.
    • Philosophy Research Base
      An extensive annotated directory of thousands of philosophy sites. Philosophy topics covered include ancient, medieval, modern, 19th & 20th century, feminism, ecofeminism, ecology, queer theory, and American. Provides links to journals, organizations, and resources for students.
    • Philosophy e-texts
      This collection of e-texts is provided by The Eserver organization based at Iowa State University. Included in the collection are many of the key texts in the philosophical canon, including works by Aristotle, Hume, Kant, Nietzsche, and Plato.
    • "Recent Reviews" - Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
    • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      "The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."

    Find Philosophy Podcasts

    • Ethics Bites podcast: The full series
      "Working in conjunction with the Institute of Philosophy, philosopher-authors David Edmonds and Nigel Warburton provide five-minute discussions on a variety of ethical issues. This series, which consists of 14 interviews, includes transcripts and a short introductory conversation with Nigel Warburton."
    • Philosophy Bites
      "In this free podcast series, David Edmonds and Nigel Warburton interview eminent philosophers on a variety of philosophical topics. Oxford University Press has published a book based on the series, Philosophy Bites."
    • The Philosopher’s Zone
      This weekly radio program, produced by Australia’s ABC Radio National, features engaging philosophical conversations on a wide array of themes. An RSS feed is also available.
    • Philosophy Talk
      Hosted by distinguished philosophy professors Ken Taylor and John Perry, this weekly podcast series covers a variety of intellectually stimulating topics. Click here to listen to it live.
     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of this Guide

      Cynthia Gregory, MLS, MFA
      Head of Electronic Resources

      Contact:

      cynthia.gregory@msj.edu
      513-244-4762

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip