Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Pastoral Studies" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Pastoral Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Pastoral Studies Articles

Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books.  Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about pastoral studies and related topics.

  • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
    ATLA stands for American Theological Library Association. It indexes more than 130 journals covering the Bible, church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions, religious studies; theology, philosophy, and ethics from 1949 to the present. Includes essays in multi-author works, and book reviews covering the last ten years. Provides links to some full text of articles. Updated semi-yearly.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Indexes more than 300 journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, the history of philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy from 1975 to the present. Includes or has links to full text.
  • PsycINFO (1967-present)
    Indexes more than 1900 periodicals in over 24 languages covering psychology and related fields. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Includes or has links to full text; updated weekly.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Indexes nearly 575 full text titles, including 550 peer-reviewed journals, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods, from 1965 to the present.

Find Pastoral Studies Books

When looking for pastoral studies books or videos/DVDs on any topic, try these methods:

TIPS:

When searching Library catalog, you might begin with a subject search.  Examples of subject searches:

Psychology and religion

Christian life

Marriage -- religious aspects

Older people -- Pastoral counseling of

Pastoral theology

Church work with the bereaved

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search.  Keyword searching lets you search for words in the title, publisher, and subject heading fields.  There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.  Contact information is at http://library.msj.edu .

For some people, browsing the pastoral studies section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful.  To do this use a call # range:

Call # Range

Subject

200s, 2nd Floor

 Religion

242s, 2nd Floor

 Devotional literature

248s, 2nd Floor

 Christian experience, practice, life

249s, 2nd Floor

 Christian observances in Family Life

250s, 2nd Floor

 Parishes and local churches

252s, 2nd Floor

 Sermons

253s, 2nd Floor

 Pastoral theology

254s, 2nd Floor

 Parish administration

259s, 2nd Floor

 Pastoral care of families and persons

      
     

    Find Pastoral Studies Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources.  The Library has both print and electronic pastoral studies reference resources, which include:

    New dictionary of Christian ethics & pastoral theology
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R241.03 N532 1995

    Cover Art
    The new dictionary of pastoral studies
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R253.03 N532 2002

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R253.03 D554 2005

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of This Guide

      Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
      Head of Public Services
      susan.falgner@msj.edu

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip