Find Music Articles
Journal articles provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about all areas of music.
Find Music Books
- Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library. URL: http://focus.msj.edu
- Use OhioLINK's catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries.
By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.
Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as the University of Cincinnati.
Present your Mount AllCard and check out items directly from their collections.
- To locate items owned by the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County search their online catalog: URL: http://catalog.cincinnatilibrary.org/
- Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or the EBSCO eBook Collection.
When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:
Music–England–History and Criticism
Music–Instruction and Study
Music–Philosophy and Aesthetics
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. Symphonies.
If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.
For some people, browsing the Music section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range.
|Call # Range||Subject|
|780, 3rd Floor||Music in general|
|781, 3rd Floor||Principles and Musical Forms|
|782, 3rd Floor||Operas|
|783, 3rd Floor||Music for voice|
|784, 3rd Floor||Instruments and instrumental ensembles|
|785, 3rd Floor||Symphonies, Chamber music|
|786, 3rd Floor||Keyboard music|
|787, 3rd Floor||Stringed instruments|
|788, 3rd Floor||Wind instruments|
|789, 3rd Floor||Percussion|
Find Music CDs
CDs are shelved in accession number order on the east wall of the Library's third floor. This means they are numbered as they are obtained (CD 001, CD 002, etc). Thus, works by a composer are not always grouped together. It is also common for a CD to include works by more than one composer. Use FOCUS to find CDs by searching by author (composer). Click on the Limt/Sort button above the search boxes and then select music audio under Material Type. Note: It is often difficult to do an accurate search by using a piece’s name since "Symphony No. 3" will include works by many different composers. For assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian.
Scores (written music for a composition) are shelved in the 780-789 section of the collection on the third floor.
To find a score for a work:
- search FOCUS by author (composer’s) name,
- then click on the Limit/Sort button near the top of the screen and
- choose music score under Material Type.
Ask a research librarian for help if you need assistance with this type of search.
Find Music Reference
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide facts, offer background information, define terminology, and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic art reference resources which include:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians R780.3 G883 2001 (29 volume set)
The New Oxford History of Music R780.9 O98 (10 volume set)
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music R781.6408 E56 1998 (8 volume set)
Find Selected Music Sites
May 13-August 27, 2017
Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays
Ask a Librarian
Get Research Help...
during open hours
Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
or login to your Library Account