Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Literature" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Literature Articles

Journal articles provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about all areas of literature.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    The most respected and comprehensive site for literature searches, MLA indexes books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes or has links to full text.
  • Humanities International Complete
  • JSTOR
    Offers several subject specific collections of full text academic journals. The collection the MSJ Library provides focuses specifically on the areas of music, art, religion, and literature.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multi-discipline, full text database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications and coverage for social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Find Literature Books

  1. Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library. URL: http://focus.msj.edu
  2.  
  3. Use OhioLINK's catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. URL: http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.

    Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as the University of Cincinnati’s UCLID .  Present your Mount AllCard (ID card) and check out items directly from their collections.
  4.  
  5. To locate items owned by the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County search their online catalog:  http://catalog.cincinnatilibrary.org/
  6.  
  7. Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or EBSCO eBook Collection.

TIPS:

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

American literature
American literature—19th Century
English literature
Faulkner, William, 1897-1962
Poetry
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616—Characters
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Hamlet
Short stories

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

For some people, browsing the art section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range.

Call # Range

Subject

811, 3rd Floor

American Poetry

812, 3rd Floor

American Drama

813, 3rd Floor

American Novels

821, 3rd Floor

English Poetry

822, 3rd Floor

Shakespeare and other English Drama

823, 3rd Floor

English Novels

830, 3rd Floor

German Literature

840, 3rd Floor

French Literature

850, 3rd Floor

Italian Literature

860, 3rd Floor

Spanish Literature

870, 3rd Floor

Latin Literature

880, 3rd Floor

Classical Greek

890, 3rd Floor

Russian and other Literature

      

    Find Literature Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide facts, offer background information, define terminology, and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and digital reference resources which include:

    • American Drama American
      Dramatic literature from 1714 to the present. Includes or has links to full text.
    • American Poetry 1600-1900
      Contains the full text of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 writers from the 17th Century to the early 20th Century. Full text of over 1,200 poetry collections listed in Bibliography of American Literature.
    • American & English Literature Collection
      Provides descriptive bibliography information. Its publication details list every reprint and variant edition of an author's works, including obscure and fugitive appearances in anthologies, broadsides, and gift books. It also includes details on bindings and physical features of the editions.
    • Contemporary Authors
      LOCATION: 1st Floor Reference, R928 C761n
    • Contemporary Literary Criticism
      LOCATION: 1st Floor Reference, R820 9 C761
    • Early American Fiction
      440 novels and short stories of 80 American writers, 1774-1850. Includes or has links to full text.
    • Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare
      Contains the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, including 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.
    • Eighteenth Century Fiction
      Provides complete text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles between 1700 and 1780.
    • English Poetry Database 600 to 1900
      Contains the full text of over 160,000 poems written in English by approximately 1,350 poets between the years 600 and 1900. Contains the full text of over 4,400 poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Updated periodically.
    • English Prose Drama
      Based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose.
    • English Verse Drama
      Contains the full text of more than 2,200 plays, operas, tragedies, etc. by over 500 named authors and 300 anonymous works, from the late 13th Century to the end of the 19th Century. Updated periodically.
    • Nineteenth-century Literature Criticism
      LOCATION: 1st Floor Reference, R809 034 N714
    • The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
      "The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. No mere catalog of dates, events, and synopses, the Encyclopedia's articles offer historical perspective and social context along with a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach."
    • The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
      "covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant (e.g., The Stationers' Company, the sonnet, the ‘School of Night, ’ or the Sublime). "
    • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
      "With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world."
    • 20th Century African-American Poetry
      12,000 poems and with biographical profiles by more than 100 African-American poets. Includes or has links to full text.
    • 20th Century American Poetry
      Contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. The database includes the works of most major twentieth-century American poets, beginning with the traditionalists; continuing through the modernists, and moving on to the contemporary works of the 1990s.
    • 20th Century English Poetry
      Contains over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. The complete text of each poem is included, and any integral images are also scanned. Introductions and prefaces to the volumes are included, as are all notes and any prose sections.
    • Twentieth-century Literary Criticism
      LOCATION: 1st Floor Reference, R809 04 T971, volumes 1-85
    • William Butler Yeats Collection
      A complete electronic edition of Yeats's work, bringing together 22 printed volumes and including critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works. Includes or has links to full text.
     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip