Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Gerontology & Aging" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Gerontology & Aging Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Gerontology & Aging Articles

Gerontology is a topic that spans multiple disciplines, such as health sciences, psychology, sociology, etc.  There are a large number of library databases that might meet your needs:

  • CINAHL Complete (Nursing & Allied Health) (EBSCO)
    Indexes over 900 English-language journals related to nursing and the allied health disciplines from 1982 to the present. Includes some full text. Updated monthly.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Includes or has links to full text.
  • PsycINFO (1967-present)
    Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology, 1967 to the present. Includes or has links to full text.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Find Gerontology & Aging Books

The Archbishop Alter Library has books, videos, compact discs and many other kinds of information sources. Items owned by the Library are listed in FOCUS, the Library's online catalog, and located according to the Dewey Decimal System.  There are several general Dewey Decimal locations for materials on GERONTOLOGY and AGING, depending on whether the social, medical, psychological, etc. aspects are adderessed.  These locations include:

    301 - Sociology and Anthropology 
    305 - Social groups 
    362 - Social welfare problems and services 
    610 - Medical sciences 
    613 - Promotion of health 
    615 - Pharmacology & therapeutics, prescription drugs 
    616 - Diseases    

Search MSJ Library and OhioLINK

There are several different ways to search for an item using FOCUS. You may search by author, title, subject, or for a word or words in the title or subject.

FOCUS and the OhioLINK catalogs use the main subject heading GERONTOLOGY.  A subject search in FOCUS results in a list of recommended subject headings, such as:

    --Aging 
    --Geriatrics  

Search results can be limited by material type, such as BOOK, AUDIOVISUALS (videos), etc., or by location within the Library, year of publication, etc.   

Follow the on-screen instructions for searching FOCUS or OhioLINK

      

    Find Gerontology & Aging Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide facts, offer background information, define terminology, and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic reference resources which include:

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip