Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Film Studies" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Film Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Film Studies Articles

Journal articles provide current information and various points of view on your topic. Articles can also provide information about topics that are not covered in books.  Search article databases, like the ones listed below, to find articles on your topic.

  • Film & Television Literature Index
    This research database contains full text peer-reviewed articles with subject coverage including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    This database focuses on academic journals in communication and mass media and includes full text for nearly 200 journals.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multi-discipline, database containing full text for over 3,430 scholarly publications.

Find Film Studies Books and Videos

When looking for film studies books or videos/DVDs on any topic, try these methods:

  1. Use the FOCUS, the Mount’s Library Catalog at http://focus.msj.edu/ to locate items owned by the Mount Library.

  2. Use the OhioLINK catalog at http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries.  By following the prompts in the OhioLINK catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.  Learn more about searching the OhioLINK catalog and online borrowing at /departments/library/help/catalogs/ohiolinkborrowing/
  3. Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or EBSCO eBook Collection.

Some examples of books about films available in the Mount library:

Anatomy of Film
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.43 D547 1998

Essential Cinema: on the Necessity of Film Canons
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.4309 R813 2004

Film: A Montage of Theories
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.43 M122

Film: An Introduction
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.4309 P564 1999

Film as Film: Understanding and Judging Movies
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.43 P451

Understanding Movies
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.43 G433 2002

A Viewer's Guide to Film: Arts, Artifices, and Issues
LOCATION: MSJ Library, 791.43 G626 1992

      

    Find Film Studies Reference Materials

    Reference materials like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and directories help you find background information, definitions, and quick facts. 

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Authors of this Guide

      Cynthia Gregory, MLS, MFA and
      Julie Flanders, MSW, MLS

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip