Find Education Articles
Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about education and related topics.
When you have found citations for articles you would like, use the "Find It!" button to determine availability for the article. This function will tell you whether the Mount library owns the journal or will provide a link to the full-text, when available.
Find Education Books
When looking for books, videos or DVDs on any topic, try these methods:
When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:
Art, Study and teaching
Education — History
Developmentally disabled children — Education
If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you search for words in the title, publisher, and subject heading fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don’t hesitate to Ask a Librarian.
For some people, browsing the education section of the Mount Library’s book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call number range:
|Call # Range||Subject|
|370s, 2nd Floor||Education|
|371s, 2nd Floor||School management; special education|
|372s, 2nd Floor||Elementary education|
|373s, 2nd Floor||Secondary education|
|374s, 2nd Floor||Adult education|
|375s, 2nd Floor||Curriculums|
|376s, 2nd Floor||Education of women|
|377s, 2nd Floor||Schools and religion|
|378s, 2nd Floor||Higher education|
|379s, 2nd Floor||Public policy issues in education;
Government regulation, control, support
|CURRIC + Dewey call number, 3rd Floor||Curriculum Collection: Teacher editions, student textbooks, workbooks; academic content standards from Ohio Department of Education|
Find Education Reference
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic education reference resources, which include:
Encyclopedia of Education
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 370.3 E56 2003
Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia
LOCATION: Online: http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/reference/EDUTEE
Elementary Education: A Reference Handbook
LOCATION: Online: http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/reference/ELEMEDE
Middle Grades Education: A Reference Handbook
LOCATION: Online: http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/reference/MIDEDE
Special Education: A Reference Handbook
LOCATION: Online: http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/reference/Speced
Encyclopedia of Special Education
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 371.903 E56 2007
Encyclopedia of American Education
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1ST FL) R 370.973 U57 2001
Standards and Schooling in the United States
LOCATION: Online: http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/reference/STANDE
World Education Encyclopedia
LOCATION: Reference (1ST FL) R 370.3 W927w 2002
Find Education Statistics
Find Resources on Educational Tests and Measurements
Contact the test publisher or author to obtain a test. Publishers may require that a test be administered by a licensed professional. Before administering a test or survey, consult your instructor and the College of Mount St. Joseph’s Institutional Review Board. "Under no circumstances should human research data be collected prior to written Institutional Review Board approval."
If you are looking for journal articles on a particular test, use the Find Education Articles section above.
Some examples of educational test and measurement journals include Educational & Psychological Measurement, Journal of Educational Measurement, Educational Assessment, Studies in Educational Evaluation: SEE.
Use the following resources to locate test reviews and contact information for test publishers:
Find Curriculum Collection
The Mount Library’s Curriculum Collection is located on the Third Floor of the Library. This collection includes teacher-editions, student textbooks and workbooks for subjects taught in elementary and secondary schools, and academic content standards from the Ohio Department of Education, Office of Curriculum and Instruction. Items in the Curriculum Collection are listed in FOCUS at http://focus.msj.edu/ and have a call number label CURRIC or REF CURRIC.
In addition to the print Curriculum Collection, the Library also offers access to EBSCOhost databases that are designed specifically for a K-12 audience and are likely to be found in many Ohio K-12 school media centers and libraries. Many of these K-12 full text and multimedia resources are ideal for inclusion in "curriculum webs." Please see Databases for Students K-12 for more information.
Also available is the Open Educational Resources Commons (OER). The OER is a "comprehensive open learning network where teachers and professors (from pre-K to graduate school) can access their colleagues’ course materials, share their own, and collaborate on affecting today’s classrooms." The OER offers an extensive collection of free online lessons on a variety of subjects.
Find General Education Web Sites
Sites for Professional Education Associations
Higher Education Sites
May 13-August 27, 2017
Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays
Ask a Librarian
Get Research Help...
during open hours
Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
or login to your Library Account
Author of This Guide
Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
Head of Public Services