Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Criminology" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Criminology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Criminology Articles

For college-level research you'll need to use specialized periodical databases that cover a specific subject. These list articles published in scholarly and peer-reviewed journals from around the world.  Online periodical indexes (databases) may also link to the full text of the article.

Journal articles provide current information and various points of view on your topic. Articles can also provide information about topics that are not covered in books.  Search article databases, like the ones listed below, to find articles on your topic.

When you have found citations for articles you would like, use the "Find It!" button to determine availability for the article. This function will tell you whether the Mount library owns the journal or if it is available full-text.

If you need an article from a journal we do not own or have full-text access to, you can request the article from Interlibrary Loan

 

Find Criminology Books

Books provide extensive, in-depth information on a topic, or on a particular aspect of a topic.  

Items owned by the Mount Library are listed in FOCUS, the Library's online catalog.  Criminology books are located on the second floor of the Library, mostly in the 364 call number range.  If you are not familiar with how to find Dewey numbers the librarian can help you. Most of the material in the Library is in “open stacks.”  This means that you are free to browse the collection to find items.  The subject heading used in the catalog is simply "criminology." Related subjects include "Community," "Criminal justice," and "Social conflict." You may also search by author, title, keyword or words.

Items not listed in FOCUS may be found by searching the OhioLINK Library Catalog which maintains location and availability information for items held in college and university libraries throughout Ohio; you may request that an item listed in the OhioLINK catalog be sent to you at the Mount Library.  Books usually arrive within 3-4 days.

Items owned by the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County can be searched via their catalog: http://catalog.cincinnatilibrary.org/ .  The Mount library website has links to other local public and academic libraries’ websites and catalogs here http://library.msj.edu/content.php?pid=173308&sid=1473724

WorldCat lists items owned by libraries in over 70 countries. To request an item that is listed in WorldCat (that is not available through FOCUS or OhioLINK's Catalog), complete an Interlibrary Loan Request Form.  Books usually arrive within 5-8 days.

Examples of books available from the MSJ Library collection:

Cover Art
The essential criminology reader
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 364 E785 2006
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
The SAGE handbook of criminological theory
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 364 S129 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Criminological theory : context and consequences
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 364.973 L729 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Essentials of research methods in criminal justice and criminology
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 364 H141 2006
Publication Date: 2006

 

Find Criminology Reference Materials

Reference materials like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and directories help you find background information, definitions, and quick facts.  Reference sources are typically referred to for specific information, rather than read cover-to-cover.

Cover Art
Criminal Justice - Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R345.73 C929 2006 1-3
Publication Date: 2006

Encyclopedia of crime and justice
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R364.03 E56 1-4
Publication Date: 1983

Cover Art
Fifty key thinkers in criminology
Call Number: 2nd FLOOR 364.0922 F469 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
21st century criminology : a reference handbook
Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R364 A111 2009 1-2
Publication Date: 2009

 

Hours*

Summer Semester
May 13-August 27, 2017

M-Th: 8am-7pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 10am-5pm
Sun: Closed

Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays

WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

     

    Ask a Librarian

    Get Research Help...

    Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
    during open hours

    Telephone Call
    513-244-4216

    Email to ask research questions online. Email
    library@msj.edu

    Renew Items...

    Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
    or login to your Library Account

    Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
    Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip