Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Business" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Business Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Business Articles

Journal articles provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about all areas of business.

  • Business Source Complete
    Contains 2,710 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Click on the Business tab to search for company information, SEC filings, country profiles, etc. Also offers the full text of news and business articles.
  • Regional Business News
    A collection of full text newswires covering the most recent 30 days of business, political, economic and other international news events.

Find Business Books

When looking for books or video/DVDs on business try these methods:

TIPS:

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

Business ethics
Commerce
Walton, Sam
Petroleum industry and trade
Teams in the workplace

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian. Contact information is online at http://library.msj.edu/.

For some people, browsing the business section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range. 

Call # Range

Subject

 330’s, 2nd Floor

Economics

 380’s, 2nd Floor

Commerce, communications & transportation

 650’s, 2nd Floor

Management & auxiliary services

657’s, 2nd Floor

Accounting

659’s, 2nd Floor

Advertising & public relations

      

    Find Business Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide facts, offer background information, define terminology, and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic business reference resources which include:

    • Encyclopedia of American Economic History
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 330.09 E56 volume 1 — 3
    • Occupational Outlook Handbook
      Available online and in print: LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 331.1209 O15
    • LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 332.6 C822 volume 1 — 8
    • Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 332.6 S785I (published quarterly)
    • Statistical Abstract of the United States
      Available online and in print: LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 317.3 U58
    • North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
      Available online and print: LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 338.0012 N867
    • Hoover’s Handbook of Emerging Companies
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 338.7 H789
    • Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives
      LOCATION: Reference (1st FL): R 338.74 S785
    • International Directory of Company Histories
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 338.74 I61 volume 1 — 27
    • Encyclopedia of Leadership
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 658.4092 E564 2004 volume 1 - 4
    • The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
      LOCATION: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R 659.103 A244 2003 volume 1 - 3

    Business Sites: Accounting

    Business Sites: Annual Reports

    Business Sites: Ethics

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of This Guide

      Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
      Head of Public Services
      susan.falgner@msj.edu

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip