Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Biology" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Biology Articles

Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about areas related to biological sciences.  Many databases provide a way to limit searches to peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.

  • Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS Previews Biological Abstracts
    Contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline. BIOSIS Previews also covers international meetings, review articles, books, and monographs.
  • Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
    Offers full text of more than 7,000 online journals in many subject areas.
  • Environment Complete
    Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, etc. Contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
  • AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
    Provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, technical reports, etc. Encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agriculture, food and nutrition.
  • Garden, Landscape, & Horticulture Index (EBSCO)
    Provides access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design and history, ecology, plant and garden conservation. Covers general gardening serials of national, international, and regional interest and serials devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups, most published in English.
  • GeoRef (EBSCO)
    Indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Find Biology Reference Sources

Find Biology Books

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

            Genetics
            Botany
            Biochemistry
            Molecular Biology
            Anatomy
            Fossil Aves
            Spermatophyta

For some people, browsing the biology section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call number range: 

Call # Range

Subject

574s,  2nd Floor

Biology

575s, 2nd Floor

Evolution & genetics

576s, 2nd Floor

Microbiology

580s, 2nd Floor

Botany

590s, 2nd Floor

Zoology

610s, 2nd Floor

 Medical Sciences

When looking for books or videos/DVDs on biology related topics try searching:

  • FOCUS
    Use FOCUS, the Mount Library’s Catalog, to locate books owned by the Mount Library.
  • OhioLINK Catalog
    Use the OhioLINK Catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount Library.

Find Biology Web Sites

 

Hours*

Summer Semester
May 13-August 27, 2017

M-Th: 8am-7pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 10am-5pm
Sun: Closed

Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays

WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

     

    Ask a Librarian

    Get Research Help...

    Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
    during open hours

    Telephone Call
    513-244-4216

    Email to ask research questions online. Email
    library@msj.edu

    Renew Items...

    Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
    or login to your Library Account

    Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
    Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip