Find Bible Studies Articles
To find a journal article, connect to ATLA Religion Database and follow the on-screen instructions for searching the database. To locate articles about scripture passages, click on Scripture at the top of the search menu. “The Scriptures authority file is a hierarchical, browsable list of the Protestant Bible presented in canonical order. Users may select the expand option to drill down from book, to chapter and verse. Selecting any given book, chapter or verse will execute a search for that scripture reference within the database.”
Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about Bible studies and related topics.
Find Bible Studies Books
To find a book or video/DVD, do a subject search in FOCUS at http://focus.msj.edu/.
Enter your subject search this way:
Bible. N. T. Matthew
Bible. N. T. John
Bible. O. T. Job
Bible O. T. Genesis
If no items are found, connect to the OhioLINK catalog at http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/. To get items from OhioLINK, click on REQUEST THIS ITEM and follow the on-screen instructions. Learn more about searching the OhioLINK catalog and online borrowing at http://library.msj.edu/content.php?pid=173308&sid=1473908.
Find Bible Studies Reference Sources
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic reference sources about the Bible. Remember you can always Ask a Librarian if you need help locating and using reference sources.
A Catholic Commentary on Holy Scripture
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.7 O64
New Bible Commentary
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.7 N532c 1994
New Jerome Biblical Commentary
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.7 B879
The New Interpreter's Bible
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.77 N532
Anchor Bible Dictionary
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.3 A539 1992
Harper Atlas of the Bible
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.93 H295 1987
Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 220.93 A669 1990
Various editions and translations of the Bible can be found at:
Find Biblical Biographical Information
When looking for biographical information on any Bible Studies figure, try these three methods:
Use article databases like the ones in the Find Bible Studies Articles section above.
Consult the biography books in the Library's Reference area. A sampling of biographical resources you'll find in the Library Reference area includes:
Who’s Who in the New Testament
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 225.92 B885
Who’s Who in the Old Testament
LOCATION: MSJ Library, Reference (1st Floor) R 221.92 C728
Find Bible Studies Web Sites
May 13-August 27, 2017
Days Closed (Summer):
Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
Sat., July 8; Sundays
Ask a Librarian
Get Research Help...
during open hours
Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
or login to your Library Account
Author of This Guide
Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
Head of Public Services