Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Athletic Training" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Athletic Training Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Athletic Training Articles

Journal articles provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about athletic training and related topics.

When you have found citations for articles, use the "Find It!" button within the databases to determine availability for the article. This function will tell you whether the Mount library owns the journal or if it is available full-text.

  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    Indexes and abstracts citations to over 47,500 books, confer ence proceedings, dissertations, reports, and articles from more than 2,000 current journals, magazines, and newsletters all related to aspects of sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
  • Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)
    A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
  • CINAHL Complete (Nursing & Allied Health) (EBSCO)
    Provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
  • Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
    Offers full text of more than 7,000 online journals in many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the Electronic Journal Center.

Find Athletic Training Books

When looking for books or video/DVDs on athletic training try these methods:

  1. Use the FOCUS Library Catalog http://focus.msj.edu to locate books owned by the Mount Library.

  2. Use the OhioLINK catalog http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/ to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries. By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount. Learn more about searching OhioLINK’s catalog and online borrowing at http://library.msj.edu/content.php?pid=173308&sid=1473908

    Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as the University of Cincinnati or Xavier University, present your Mount AllCard and check out items directly from their collections.

  3. Use the catalog of the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County to locate items owned by the Public Library. Search the Public Library catalog at http://catalog.cincinnatilibrary.org/

  4. Try electronic books databases such as EBSCO EBook Collection or the Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) at http://library.msj.edu/content.php?pid=173308&sid=3183811

TIPS:

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

Physical education and training
Athletics
Coaching (athletics)
Exercise
Physical fitness
Sports

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search.  For example, sports nutrition or sports and self esteem. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

For some people, browsing the athletic training section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call number range: 

Call # Range

Subject

 370s, 2nd Floor

 Education

 610s, 2nd Floor

 Medicine & health

 611s, 2nd Floor

 Human anatomy

 612s, 2nd Floor

 Human physiology

 613s, 2nd Floor

 Personal health & safety

 796s, 3rd Floor

 Athletic & outdoor sports & games

 797s, 3rd Floor

 Aquatic & air sports

 798s, 3rd Floor

 Equestrian sports

      
     

    Find Athletic Training Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide facts, offer background information, define terminology, and can lead to other resources. The Library has both print and electronic reference resources which include:

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R617.1 E564 2011, vols. 1-4

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Sports Science
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R613.71 E56 1997, vols., 1-2



    Find Athletic Training Organizations

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      About this Guide

      This guide provides information on specific resources for researching topics in athletic training.  If you have any questions about the research process or resources please contact the library.

      Research Desk: 244-4307
      Email: library@mail.msj.edu  

      Author of This Guide

      Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
      Head of Public Services
      susan.falgner@msj.edu

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip