Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "Art" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

Art Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Art Articles

Journal articles provide the latest research and various points of view on your topic, as well as information that is not covered in books. Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find scholarly journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about all areas of fine art, art education, and/or art history.

  • Art Full Text (Formerly Art Abstracts)
    Offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, design, fine art, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, reviews, and art history. Links to full text as available.
  • Art Index Retrospective [1929-1984]
    Covers fine, decorative and commercial art dating back to 1913. Content includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more. Links to full text as available.

Find Art Books

When looking for art books, exhibit catalogs, or video/DVDs on any artist, art style, movement, or technique, try these methods:

    1. Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library. URL: http://focus.msj.edu

    2. Use OhioLINK's catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries.
      By following the prompts in OhioLINK's catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.
      To learn more about OhioLINK requesting and borrowing, review our guide "How to request items from OhioLINK".

    3. Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as DAAP Library at UC or Xavier's Library, present your MSJ AllCard/Library card and check out items directly from their collections.

    4. To locate items owned by the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County search their online catalog.

    5. Some print art books are availalbe as ebooks. Search for electronic books via OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center and the EBSCO eBook Collection. See also the section above, "Find Art Ebooks."

    6. WorldCat.org is a worldwide catalog of books, videoes, articles, digital materials.  Use it to limit by your zipcode location to determine which nearby libraries have resources available.

TIPS:

When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.
Examples of subject search terms:

Art - India
Glazing
Cassatt, Mary
Sculpture
Interior Design

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search. Keyword searching lets you to search words in the title, author, publisher, and subject headings fields. There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.

For some people, browsing the art section of the Library's book stacks can be helpful. To do this use a call # range.

Call # Range Subject
680s, 2nd Floor Furniture Design,
Typography, Type Design, Bookbinding
700s, 3rd Floor General Arts, Art History, Aesthetics
710s, 3rd Floor Civic & Landscape Arts
720s, 3rd Floor Architecture
730s, 3rd Floor Sculpture, Ceramics, & Metalwork
740s, 3rd Floor Drawing, Graphic Arts, Interior Design, Industrial Design, Decorative & Fiber Arts
750s, 3rd Floor Painting, Painters
760s, 3rd Floor Printmaking, Prints
770s, 3rd Floor Photography & Digital Arts
      

    Find Art Encyclopedias

    Art Career Sites

    • Artist Resource Guide: Resources for the Working Artist
      This guide from the Public Library of Cincinnati Offers information on the topics of competitions/exhibitions, marketing and selling, business and legal, local and state resources, crafts, graphic design, photography, and online periodicals and Websites.
    • Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) Index
      Contains "the alphabetical index to the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) revised fourth edition, as supplied electronically by the U.S. Department of Labor."
    • Field Guide for Ceramic Artists
      by Julia Galloway
    • Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
      Online version of the career handbook by the same name. Research a specific occupation or profession and find out the training and education required, salary, job prospects, working conditions, and the nature of the work. Searchable and browsable. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), U.S. Department of Labor.
    • Opportunities | CAA
      An aggregated list from the College Art Association that lists employment, grants, fellowships, gallery calls to artists and much more.
    • The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
      Offers sections for career fields, salary surveys, research, and help with resumes, cover letters, and more. Compiled and regularly updated by librarian and consultant Margaret F. (Riley) Dikel.

    Design Sites

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of this Guide

      Cynthia Gregory, MLS, MFA
      Head of Electronic Resources

      Contact:

      cynthia.gregory@msj.edu
      513-244-4762

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip