Search FOCUS & OhioLINKSearch Local Libraries' CatalogsSearch EbooksOnline Reference ResourcesRequesting from OhioLINKRequesting from other LibrariesImages & MultimediaILL Interlibrary LoanRecommend a Purchase
Find Journal & Newspaper ArticlesDatabases A-ZDatabases listed by SubjectFind Full TextCitation Style GuidesOff-Campus AccessILL Interlibrary Loan
Assignment HelpCitation Style GuidesLibrary Tour & TutorialsSubject GuidesResearch BasicsSearching Library CatalogsLocating ArticlesEvaluating InformationUsing Online Resources
Search ReservesPlace Items on ReserveChecking Out ReservesCopyright Compliance PolicySyllabi Archive (on myMount)
Borrowing PoliciesInformation Literacy InstructionFaculty ServicesOnline/Distance LearningLeisure ReadingILL Interlibrary LoanOff-Campus AccessMy Librarian: Personal Librarian ProgramRecommend a Purchase
Art CollectionHoursLibrary's Green RoofLibrary Faculty & StaffLibrary PoliciesSocial MediaUniversity ArchivesWPS Starbucks Cafe
African HistoryArtArt HistoryAthletic TrainingBible StudiesBiologyBusinessCareers & JobsCriminologyEducationElizabeth SetonFacts & StatisticsFilm StudiesGeographyGerontology & AgingCommon Freshmen ReaderHealth Sciences Teaching ResourcesLiteratureMedicineMilitary HistoryMusicNursingOrganizational LeadershipPastoral StudiesPhilosophyPhysical TherapyPsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologyUS HistoryVoter Education
This is the "African History" page of the "Archbishop Alter Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archbishop Alter Library  

Helping you Research and Learn!
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://library.msj.edu/home Print Guide Email Alerts

African History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find African History Articles

Journal articles can provide current information, various points of view on your topic, and information that is not covered in books.  Search article databases like the ones recommended below when you need to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles written about African history and related topics.

  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, published 1955 to the present, covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of dissertations of interest for historical research. Updated three times a year.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Provides the full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world in the subject areas of archaeology, classical studies, history, philosophy, linguistics, literature and language.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A multi-discipline database containing full text for over 4,000 scholarly publications.
  • Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
    Offers full text of more than 2,000 online journals in many subject areas.

Find African History Books

When looking for African history books or videos/DVDs on any topic, try these methods:

  1. Use the FOCUS Library Catalog to locate books owned by the Mount Library.
  2.  
  3. Use the OhioLINK catalog to search for items owned by other Ohio college and university libraries.  By following the prompts in the OhioLINK catalog, you may request items to be sent to the Mount.  

    Another option is to go directly to other OhioLINK member libraries, such as Miami University, UC or Xavier, present your Mount AllCard and check out items directly from their collections.

  4.  
  5. Use the catalog of the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County  to locate items owned by the Public Library.
  6.  
  7. Try electronic books databases such as OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center or EBSCO eBook Collection.

TIPS:

    When searching library catalogs, you might begin with a subject search.

    Examples of subject search terms:

Africa — History

Massacres — Zaire — Kisangani

Mandela, Nelson

Ngorongoro Crater

Socialism — Africa

If you are not sure of what subject to search, try using a keyword search.  Keyword searching lets you search for words in the title, publisher, and subject heading fields.  There are many ways to search library catalogs, so if you need assistance, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.

For some people, browsing the African history section of the Library’s book stacks can be helpful.  To do this use a call # range:

Call # Range

 Subject

960s, 3rd Floor

 History of Africa

961s, 3rd Floor

 Tunisia & Libya

962s, 3rd Floor

 Egypt & Sudan

963s, 3rd Floor

 Ethiopia & Eritrea

964s, 3rd Floor

 Northwest Africa coast & offshore islands

965s, 3rd Floor

 Algeria

966s, 3rd Floor

 West Africa & offshore islands

967s, 3rd Floor

 Central Africa & offshore islands

968s, 3rd Floor

 Southern Africa; Republic of South Africa

969s, 3rd Floor

 South Indian Ocean islands

      

    Find Biographical Information

    When looking for biographical information on any historical figure, try these three methods:

    1. Use article databases like the ones in the Find African History Articles section listed above.

    2. Search for books and videos/DVDs in the FOCUS and OhioLINK catalogs by subject using the person’s name.

    3. Consult these Web sites:

     

    Find African History Reference

    Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks offer background information, define terminology and can lead to other resources.  The Library's African history reference resources include:

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of African history - Kevin Shillington, editor
    Call Number: REFERENCE (1ST FL) R960.03 E56 2005, vols. 1-5
    Publication Date: 2005


    Find Primary Sources for African History

    Primary sources are records of events as they are first described, without any interpretation or commentary.  Examples are diaries, court records, letters, and interviews.

    Find African History Maps

    Find African Historical Societies & Museums

     

    Hours*

    Summer Semester
    May 13-August 27, 2017

    M-Th: 8am-7pm
    Fri: 8am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-5pm
    Sun: Closed

    Days Closed (Summer):
    Sat., July 1; Tues., July 4;
    Sat., July 8; Sundays

    WPS Starbucks Cafe Hours

       

      Ask a Librarian

      Get Research Help...

      Consult in-person with a library faculty member. Visit
      during open hours

      Telephone Call
      513-244-4216

      Email to ask research questions online. Email
      library@msj.edu

      Renew Items...

      Call the Circulation Desk to renew items. Call the Circulation Desk: 513-244-4216
      or login to your Library Account

      Author of This Guide

      Susan M. Falgner, M. L. S.,
      Head of Public Services
      susan.falgner@msj.edu

      Archbishop Alter Library • Mount St. Joseph University • 5701 Delhi Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45233-1671
      Circulation & Research: 513-244-4216 • Email: library@msj.edu
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip